Who Pays Out on First Past the Post in Horse Racing?
The first past the post rule allows a bettor to keep his winnings as long as the horse passes the finish line first, regardless of the official result. The benefit of a bookie having this rule is you don’t need to worry about a steward enquiry that may cause the result to be amended.
The bets for horse racing are typically paid based on the official result after the horses being weighed in. At the same time there are also bookies that pay according to the “First Past The Post” rule.
The First Past the Post is a rule that can apply at certain bookmakers in the UK. Also this benefit is also available in irish and other international bookmakers, like those from Dubai, US or other European countries.
Overall if you’re planning to place some online horse racing bets, it’s always best to take a look at the rules related to this situation, as they might differ from one site to another. Some of the most popular online sportsbooks are going to offer you some soft rules regarding this situation and this way you can be sure that you will get paid even during this situation.
Out of these bookies there are exceptions on what they won’t pay out on such as incorrect weight or a horse taking the wrong course in the race. But the WILL pay out on disqualification through interference.
Overall the top bookie for this rule seems to be bet365 who include ante post bets which the other bookies take exception to.
T&C’s Apply 18+. Please Gamble Responsibly